ACTION ALERT: Protect Special Education Services in the New York State Budget

| January 23, 2018

Governor Cuomo’s 2018-2019 budget proposal would allow school districts to seek broad waivers from laws and regulations that provide important protections for students with disabilities. For example, these waivers could allow school districts to avoid certain requirements regarding class size, behavior intervention plans, and notification of certain changes in placement. This broad waiver provision would erode students’ rights. The New York State Legislature has rejected this proposal multiple times in the past.

 

With the current political climate in Washington, we need the State to stand firm on rights for students with disabilities, not enact legislation that would take these rights away.

Take Action: Contact Your Legislators

Call or e-mail your legislators and other key decision-makers and tell them to reject the special education waiver in the state budget. If you get voice mail, leave a message.

 

SAMPLE SCRIPT

My name is [your name]. I am a [parent of a student with a disability / teacher / concerned constituent]. I am calling regarding the state budget. I want to make sure the budget does not include the special education waiver in Governor Cuomo’s education budget proposal. The special education waiver would allow school districts to take away important rights for students with disabilities, and I hope you will reject this proposal. Thank you.

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

To reach your state legislators, call the New York Senate switchboard (518-455-2800) and New York Assembly switchboard (518-455-4100) and give your zip code. Alternatively, you can find the phone number and e-mail address for your State Senator and for your Assembly Member online.

 

Key decision-makers include (Name, Phone, E-mail):

 

Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie

518-455-3791

speaker@nyassembly.gov

 

Senate Majority Leader John Flanagan

518-455-2071

flanagan@nysenate.gov

 

Senate Coalition Leader Jeffrey Klein

518-455-3595

jdklein@nysenate.gov

 

Assembly Minority Leader Brian Kolb

518-455-3751

kolbb@nyassembly.gov

 

Senate Minority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins

518-455-2585

scousins@nysenate.gov

 

Assembly Education Committee Chair Catherine Nolan

518-455-4851

nolanc@nyassembly.gov

 

Senate Education Committee Chair Carl Marcellino

518-455-2390

marcelli@nysenate.gov

 

Assembly Ways and Means Committee Chair Helene Weinstein

518-455-5462

weinsth@nyassembly.gov

 

Senate Finance Committee Chair Catharine Young

518-455-3563

cyoung@nysenate.gov

 

 

Forward this message to other New Yorkers who may be interested in taking action.